Sign in to follow this  
nicforte

SFML stumbling block

Hi new here,

I'm an amateur who is attempting to create a game out of personal interest. I have worked my way to the c++ programming level of creating some reasonably detailed games to which I would like to add some simple 2D sprite graphics. I have read that SFML is probably the best option for me at this point.

The problem I am having is that after adding on SFML and attempting a very simple program, (for instance the demo which creates a window and draws a green circle in it), I get a crash. Here are the details I have so far:

- I am running CodeBlocks 12.11 with MinGW, and sfml 2.0, (but I have also tried with 1.6)

-This is the demo program straight from sfml website, I copied it directly and pasted it into Codeblocks

#include <SFML/Graphics.hpp>

int main()
{
    sf::RenderWindow window(sf::VideoMode(200, 200), "SFML works!");
    sf::CircleShape shape(100.f);
    shape.setFillColor(sf::Color::Green);

while (window.isOpen())
    {
        sf::Event event;
        while (window.pollEvent(event))
        {
            if (event.type == sf::Event::Closed)
                window.close();
        }

window.clear();
        window.draw(shape);
        window.display();
    }

return 0;
}

- compiler gives me no errors

- i get this error from windows when the program is run "sfmlTest.exe has stopped working", sfmlTest.exe being the executable for the program I created

- debug gives me this:

Unhandled exception at 0x691C4AF9 (sfml-window-2.dll) in finalsfml2.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation writing location 0x000000C8.

and

Unhandled exception at 0x772D016E (ntdll.dll) in finalsfml2.exe: 0x00000000: The operation completed successfully.