Game Design Questions (low level-ish)

Started by
18 comments, last by Jossos 11 years ago

I'm not sure if this is really a beginner topic or not, but since I'm not really experienced, I thought I'd post in beginners section just to be safe from ridicule.

I'm writing some practice applications and am having a blast. I'm wanting to build some neat game-apps (mostly just experimenting right now) and I do want to get some good game design in whatever I do. These are questions I have, and any answers would be great!

Question 1: Animation

Is it possible to export animations from 3ds Max? Also, how would this work? I've messed around with .obj files, and I can load in an object with textures into my application, but I am unsure how to do animation. Do I need some kind of bone system - or perhaps a bunch of .obj's with difference vertex positions for each frame? I prefer the vertex positions per frame, as the bone stuff seems like it might make the computer do a little more math than I'd like it to.

Question 2: Data Structure(s)

I'd like to make a RTS, which means I need a lot of "Units" (I'd likely make unit objects) and I'd like a lot of these, hundreds, maybe thousands. As you can tell, I have no grasp on what's feasible here, in terms of how it's usually done in games, so I'd like to know if I'm way off, or if there's a special way to do it.

In all honesty, I plan to have all units contained in a <vector> and loop through each one, progressing its state forward a frame (like walking, or attacking)

Question 3: Visual Studio - DLL's and .libs

I'm quite use to having a bunch of .h and .cpp files all in a project, and compiling the whole thing into an exe (with .obj's and png's in the same directory). Should I have bunches of my code put into a seperate file and export as DLL? I haven't done this before, so is there anything I need to know about this? (I think exporting a dll is pretty easy, just have to change a setting)

Question 4: Input to Logic

- Solved