Some basic questions from a beginner

Started by
3 comments, last by Dawoodoz 11 years ago

First of all, hello people! I'm new to the GD.net forums but I've read many of the articles here in the past and they've been really helpful. In this first post, I'd like to ask some questions so as to clear the fog that surrounds game development for me.

I was interested in developing my own game since I first came in contact with the concept of programming in High School, when I was around 16 years old. Of course, back then, I was thinking complex 3D games like Crysis (which had just come out) and I thought that if I could gather a few of my friends, we could easily top that. I've always been a fanatic gamer and was lucky enough to grow up in what I believe was a 'golden age' for gaming; the era when games like Metal Gear Solid and Resident Evil came out, so the idea simply fascinated me. After many starts and bitter ends of me trying to get down and serious with gaming (thank you, procrastination), I think that only now that I'm in my 20s am I mature enough to pull it off, because I kind of understand the limitations of what a person can achieve. While I know I'm very far from that, my ultimate goal would be to work on games similar to the ones I grew up with, or even older style games with some contemporary additions.