Understanding PyMMO

Started by
17 comments, last by Sky Warden 10 years, 11 months ago

Hi everybody. I saw a good source code that is made for MMO development with Python here. I've tried it and it worked. I really am interested in this source code and I want to learn it, but when I opened the script, it was pretty confusing for me. I'm new to network programming, so it's hard for me to understand it.

What I want to know is what does the source code do and how does it work. Can someone please add some comments in the Python scripts explaining parts of it. You can just explain one script or one part if this is bothering you too much, like maybe just the client part, etc. Every help will be appreciated.

Sorry if this sounds so newbie, but I really have no idea. unsure.png

Thank you.

Advertisement

I think you're going to get much more from people on this forum if you ask for help to understand a very specific piece of code. I doubt anyone is going to want to dig into someone else's code and comment it for you.

I've got a better idea: Why not try to comment it yourself? Take a copy of the code and read through it, but don't just read it like a book from start to finish. Get your self whiteboard or a big blank piece of paper and make notes and sketches about the various components of the code. For example, you can start by making a list of the source files:

- client.py

- encoding.py

- mkuser.py

- player.py

- server.py

- world.py

Next, open each file and take note of what it contains. Does it import anything? Make a note of that. What classes does it contain? What functions does it contain? Don't look at the code in too much detail, just look for names. If the code is written well, the names should give you good conceptual ideas.