• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Deathbliss

Looking for a tutorial on how to make a plugin for 3DS Max or Wings 3D

This topic is 1865 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Well I hope I have this in the right place as what I'm talking about is called an API. If not feel free to move it.

So what I want basically is a tutorial that takes you through the process of creating a plugin for Wings 3D or 3DS Max. I don't know what the Wings 3D part of this is called. I know that the other is called the 3DS Max API and sometimes the 3DS Max C++ API. C++ is ideal for me as this is the language I am currently studying.

When it comes down to it what I am really after here is an answer to the question, "How does one make an importer/exporter?" I want to be able to understand the source for Plasma, Cyan's 3DS Max 7 exporter for Uru. In that case its a package deal - you create in essence an entire level, or age, using the plugin. I need to start simpler. How to make an exporter that spits out a simple mesh in some format.

I always appreciate book and link recommendations. I did Google and YouTube but found nothing. Doesn't have to be ablout Max or Wings 3D if the tutorial is good and can be used in reference to these if not directly. I would really like a video tutorial - I do better with them.

There should be something around here for this... I mean if someone writes a game engine tutorial series, you have to cover asset import/export sooner or later. I just want the resources on hand to study and learn from. Failing everything else, if you know some simple, easy to understand source code for some sort of Wings 3D or 3DS Max plugin send me a link and I could study that.

Thank you in advance for your help!

Advertisement