• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Bob Ross

Where to begin?

This topic is 1955 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all! I was hoping to get some insight from anyone who's willing to help me out. I recently started getting into the idea of programming and although I'm new to it all, I was looking into c++ programming. I went out and bought a book and have been reading up on it the past few days. I'm surprisingly really enjoying it. However, I read c++ isn't for game logic scripting, but instead more for game engines. So is c# what I'm looking for? I've been playing around with unity as have a few friends of mine. They don't want to program which is fine because I like the idea of breathing life into something a developer designs through scripting. Is c++ useless for getting up and started? Would it just be beneficial to start with c# so I can get up and running relatively quick?(I understand I have much to learn before I'm up and running on a decent level) Or should I just keep on it with c++? I'm sure this has been posted elsewhere but I'm new to this site. Hell, I'm pretty green with everything. Thanks for taking the time to read this!

Advertisement

If you're just interested in using unity you should be learning unity scripting.

C++ works fine for game logic, other languages are usually embedded for scripting simply because there are a few advantages to it, such as:

• Can reload game logic without having to recompile or relaunch.
  • Can develop more of an encapsulated system that shields you from a lot of the game engine work, focusing on gameplay developing functions and such.
  • Other languages may have less verbose or just more friendly syntax for scripting than C++, letting you throw together scripts faster along with the other reasons.