Talk me in to/out of HeroEngine?

Started by
5 comments, last by Kylotan 10 years, 10 months ago

I have been kicking around a project for a couple of years now, mostly based on my dissatisfaction with the MMORPG genre as a whole since WoW came out. I have a pretty thorough design document that now needs to start getting filled in with some technical details. In order to do that, I have to have a clue. In order to get a clue, I have to start somewhere. That brings us to the reason for the post:

Here is a short list of required capabilities/features:

• Third person shooter.
  • Combination of several "open world" maps and instances (seemless transitions are a plus, but not really necessary).
  • Ability to generate levels on the fly from pre-defined "tile sets", think random instances.
  • Fairly robust AI.
  • Persistent data for (hopefully) thousands of players.
  • Networking that can support "a lot of people" shooting in the same area that also provides at least passable anti-cheat measures.
  • "Easy" mapping tools.
  • Scripting engine powerful enough to support complex missions, crafting and resource gathering interactions. (Scripting is the one thing I am confident about my capabilities in, so ease is less important here than capability)
  • Multiple character controllers as there will be free-form flight and ground based interactions. Ideally these would be switchable on the fly, but I can deal with a transition if I have to.

I initially was looking at Unity as I was hoping to make the game playable in different ways across multiple platforms (doing your crafting from your Android phone during your lunch hour, for example, then logging in to your PC at night to blow some stuff up). I would still be willing to consider Unity, but my understanding is that the built-in networking is sub-par and the networking piece is something that simply has to work right. So, I moved on to consider some other options and came to HeroEngine.