Writer wondering where to start

Started by
2 comments, last by Sky Warden 10 years, 10 months ago

Hi, I've been writing for years, but am now looking to write and develop games. As a beginner I have to ask...

Where do I start?

Currently I am looking to help work on short or simple games for the likes of Android/iOS etc. It doesn't seem like writers are in high demand for video games. Should I be willing to work on writing outside of the actual storyline of the game? for example, writing for the game's website, press releases, instruction manuals, etc. Would that just pigeon hole me into working on things that are not in-game, or would small developers appreciate the diversity of the things I would write?

I also want to know if there are any programs or writing formats I should become more familiar with if I want to write for video games.

Thanks!

Advertisement

Haha. Hi there writer friend! I'm a writer as well, and like you, was interested in joining the game industry as a writer. A little search gave me some useful information to make career as a game writer, and let me tell you some. I was just searching for information, not applying for a position. I'm still young and prefer to work as a programmer.

Write some reputation. Game industry will hardly take you if you don't have any kind of record. There are many indie game projects, and you can start there. If you have some programmer friends who want to make a simple game, offer your service as a writer.

Learn something else. That will increase your value. You may want to learn game design.

Should I be willing to work on writing outside of the actual storyline of the game? for example, writing for the game's website, press releases, instruction manuals, etc.

Yes. Why not?

I also want to know if there are any programs or writing formats I should become more familiar with if I want to write for video games.