publishing a game to desura and steam - possible?

Started by
3 comments, last by lucidimage 10 years, 10 months ago

Hi

I'm a total newbie when it comes to self publishing games to digital platforms like desura and steam (being nothing than a wanna-be-Indie hobby dev at the moment) ...

Having heard not much good things about an Indies chances to get through the steam green light process without help I wonder, is there anything stopping you from publishing your game to other services like desura (no idea if this would be easier to get on), and only start the green light process when you found a healthy bunch of customers and fans there?

I would imagine getting greenlighted can only get easier the more well known your game is to the public, so releasing it somewhere else before steam sounds like a good idea to me.

Thanks in advance for any information

Gian-Reto

Advertisement

There are many titles which has been published on desura and steam, therefor it should work. Publishing on desura seems to be a lot easier than getting your title greenlit, but when you compare sales figures of steam vs desura, then you will see, that steam is THE plattform to go for.

Yeah steam is not exclusive, so they accept games that have already been published elsewhere, and after you get on steam you can continue to sell your game through other channels as well.

Building a customer base through other means first, so that it's easier to get greenlit sounds like a sensible plan.

Thanks for the replies, guys!

I thought that steam would be a much stronger platform when it comes to the audience you can reach, I just don't think its the best start for a fledling indie like me yet. I rather have a modest success on desura (or any other non-steam platform) than completly fail on steam, especially when the two platforms are not exclusive to each other.