Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

esolem

Another Q for you professionals... about age.

In short: How old where you when you got your first job in the inudustry? I''m now 28, and starting to learn DirectX. I have been programming C++ on and off for 5-6 years. Programming in general for about 10 years. Is it to late for me? Or do I need to start on my own... Endre

Yeah, I am kinda in the same boat, just finished university and am competing with people younger than myself, but lots of older (40+ even) guys were in my course, and they had no problems getting jobs, so I am still confident.

I guess I can answer for the fun of it.

I''m currently 23. Been programming for the company I''m at for 3 years in april. I don''t have any schooling (in programming at least) and I think I''ve done fairly well considering. I mostly work in Java and Perl doing a lot of GUI interfaces and things. Wish I got a college degree, or high-school diploma for that matter, so I could "demand" a higher salary but hey, I''ll do that some day. =)

- Mike

Guest Anonymous Poster
Im 27 now. Ive been in the industry for almost 4 years.

Heres the ages of the programmers on my team.

2 twenty somethings
4 thirty somethings
1 forty something -- in games since the mid 80s.
1 fifty something -- in games since the late 70s.

I''m 14 and I am looking for a job. Anyone? I''ve been programming in DirectX/C++ for about a year and have read a lot of books on it. I also know good webpage design(even though my site sux) including flash. If this is a bonus, I know good graphic art and a little java. If you go to my site, you can see some older works(not real old) but now I''m programming isometric games so they seem old.

Because I am young, I would only ask for maybe 25% of the normal pay. Thanks!

My site is bgamesinc.tripod.com but this was created so fast and the games were created so fast that it is hardly anything of my potential.