Want to build a game

Started by
3 comments, last by ZerohBeat 10 years, 10 months ago

Hello. I would really like to build a game like knightfight.co.uk or bitefight.co.uk.

I am pretty new to this, I know some HTML, CSS, PHP and MySql. How hard would it be to build a game like that, looking to hear some comments.

Advertisement

That depends on your experience. I'm not registering to find out about these games, but if it's what i think it is; a *real*-time game with simple graphics,
controlled with a simple gui, it's certainly doable by one person. But again, it very much depends on your experience.

Have you developed websites or web apps before? What kind? You may need to trigger an event every now and then, to sort of "tick" the mechanics and apply some values across the game. Have you done something as such yet?

You could also make it turn based, that would be easier. But you'd have to work out a way for the game to progress.

(If you're going for real time, you may need a good server, depending on the amount of information to pass through. But the DOM poses a great advantage in fast cross-browser graphics, -so there's something to consider, just in case. ;) )

Well, it's just text and a GUI. I'm sure its possible, just remember to build for networking from the ground up.

Cheers :)!

I'm a game programmer and computer science ninja !

Here's my 2D RPG-Ish Platformer Programmed in Python + Pygame, with a Custom Level Editor and Rendering System!

Here's my Custom IDE / Debugger Programmed in Pure Python and Designed from the Ground Up for Programming Education!

Want to ask about Python, Flask, wxPython, Pygame, C++, HTML5, CSS3, Javascript, jQuery, C++, Vimscript, SFML 1.6 / 2.0, or anything else? Recruiting for a game development team and need a passionate programmer? Just want to talk about programming? Email me here:

hobohm.business@gmail.com

or Personal-Message me on here !