Sign in to follow this  
polyfrag

Broken on iphone

weymiensn    180

Perhaps you could be a little more specific by explaining which elements are too narrow... For example, on my smarphone the blue ribobn, which I presume is id="primary_nav", indeed too narrow to be easy to use. However, as I said previously on another post that is perhaps entirely subjective.

The white space on the right side is also vague and I have no experience with such a thing...

jbadams    25676

Interesting, that's really different from what I see on my Android phone (Samsung Galaxy S4, running Chrome):

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/24916480/Screenshot_2013-06-30-16-02-09.png

You can see a lot of the extra stuff has been removed in favour of just the main content -- tapping reveals things like quote buttons, moderator options, etc.  These devices should have reasonably similar capabilities, I wonder if we can get the same simpler display for iPhone as what I'm seeing...

Hodgman    51234
I think the issue is that the mid-thread advertisements are forcing the screen to a particular width, while the posts are trying to use a smaller width.

Usually the iPhone lets you double-tap to zoom on certain elements, but this feature doesn't work for some reason on the new GDNe layout for some reason, which means I can't even work-around the layout issues, making it very near unreadable.

Cornstalks    7030

Interesting, that's really different from what I see on my Android phone (Samsung Galaxy S4, running Chrome):

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/24916480/Screenshot_2013-06-30-16-02-09.png

That's not at all what I see on my GS2 running Chrome (and Android 4.0). I see:

Nw22g21.png

And this site needs to use the "hamburger" button more:

d4Iip3u.png

E2Xl9Pg.png

Also, the thread listing is cramped:

BjRw0oh.png

Cornstalks    7030

Any better?

MUCH better. I might suggest the "By content type" and "By time period" be drop-down selections as well, just to save vertical real estate.