• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Proper way to sync data to disk?

This topic is 1748 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello.

I'm new to game development, and I'm trying to make a multi-player game server. One design issue I've run into is trying to find a fast but safe way to keep server data (account info, game states, etc) and file data synchronized. I thought about just saving directly to the file whenever any internal data structure is changed, but I don't know how much that would impact performance to constantly write to the disk. I also want to minimize the chance of putting the files in an inconsistent state in the event of a crash. Which the current server gleefully makes a hobby of doing.

So what's a good disk I/O strategy to keep the performance decent, the data consistent, and code complexity/size down?

Advertisement

For persistent data (account info. character info., etc.) you might use a sql interface to store data in a database.

Generally, you don't store transient data (game state, etc.) on disk.

Right, there's certain things that you want persisted immediately for a good user experience, like items acquired, levels gained, or trades made. For that kind of thing, you want the persistence transaction (be it do disk or database) to be completely atomic. Other stuff involving the state of the player's general interaction with the world are not crucial to maintain, like their exact position every time they move. In a perfect world, maybe that'd be nice, but here in reality-land, there are more important things to worry about.

SQlite sounds like a good idea; I'm using a lot of relational data anyways. The game I'm developing is a turn-based strategy game with tiled maps, so there is a lot of data to be stored per player/map, and a game could last longer than the lifetime of the server process.