• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
inkdrips

Advice wanted for budding game developer

This topic is 1922 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a novelist. Interested in writing my own games, I'm also an amateur cartoonist. So this is where I'm coming from with my interest in game design. I used to write small pixelated games in BBC BASIC on an Archimedes BBC Micro emulator. After that I learned a bit of Logic in high school and got me a 98% in the algebra exam. Because I was able to learn it from books on high school certificate level. After that I moved away from maths and computers, spent more time learning filmmaking (4 years) got a degree in creative writing. And now my novel. But I'd like to get into game design and I've decided to attempt to learn Actionscript, Unity and Liberty BASIC. Because they are about my skill level at the moment. And I just want to get some ideas down and start to make them into something I can see. Unity is the main one I'm interested in (yes I know it's not a language.) Does anyone out there with some experience have any advice for a not-great programmer, but motivated guy with an aptitude for design, good work ethic and a great imagination?

Advertisement

My advice is to pick a language and get comfortable with it.  At that point, scripting in Unity will be much easier (assuming you are picking up either C# or javascript... both are similar and both have great real world applications that can be used with it)

Don't try to sprint before you even know how to stand up.