• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
traxix

Unity What do you need to learn before using a game engine?

This topic is 1747 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys, I'm new here :)

So I was thinking about game programming and using a game engine. And everyone's been saying that you should first do some game programming and graphics programming before you actually use a game engine, so you know how things work on the programming side of things.

So my question is:
Basically, what is everything you need to learn in game programming before using a game engine (like Unity)?

I personally have been learning C# and XNA and I'm pretty new at it, and C# is used in Unity as a scripting language, and I always intended on transferring to Unity after learning everything I needed to know. So I really need to know everything I need to learn before going to Unity. Meanwhile I'll be learning that in XNA or SharpDX.

Feel free to post about general knowledge you need to have before using a game engine that's not language specific.

Cheers!

Advertisement

I think knowing your languages well is the big thing. Game programming is just regular programming with some domain specific stuff mixed in.  

Otherwise I'd just say jump in with and go though. Learning stuff on your own isn't really like learning something in a class... there are no predefined "prerequisites", so you'll basically just be learning your prerequisites along the way. The main thing is just plowing through frustration.  

Personally I'd recommend against Unity if you're just starting out though. Don't get me wrong, I really really like Unity (I'm using it right now), but IMO it's more of an expert's tool than a beginners. YMMV though, try it out at least.