NEWBIE looking for answers

Started by
4 comments, last by minibutmany 10 years, 7 months ago

Hi everyone

Yes i know many questions and us Newbies tend to try take on to much and fail and then tend to scare ourselves away, but i am looking for specific answers

Lets see i have the following programs Pygame, RPG MAKER VX Ace, Construct 2, Game Maker 8.1 Pro and dont know any of them and cant make up my mind (also looking to browse Unity

Now i have zero experience in game making or programming but would like to make a game for my own pleasure, the game im looking to make is something like Fallout or Fallout 2, the Sims (i believe thats 2D - (top viewer looking down) I MAY BE WRONG CAN THEY BE A 3D GAME TOPSHOOTER

and i read the comments and advice like start small - make Mario brothers etc but lets be realistic Mario is more of a platform or level game (like flipping through pages of a book) in the Game Maker i did the project with the apples and bananas etc and you click on them and get score and that is nowhere near Fall Out or something similar, in fact after i completed Game Maker project i felt that i had not really learned anything towards achieving the greater goal

in a bigger game character/s must run shoot jump etc (yes create scripts) but i also know there is more to it than that, you must create your world, your interact-able surroundings, gear objects etc.

i read about PNG files etc and have no idea why cant one use BMP or GIF or JPEG,

I think ok i create a road (rephrase that i look for free/shareware graphics) some buildings etc how do i resize it or the character so the character is not taller than the Empire State Building when u actually run the game

if i want to change the characters dress code or equip him

if i want him to show hunger or tiredness etc

if i want to use a vehicle or upgrade or modify vehicle etc e.g u must have tools frst before u can modify or fix

explore and enter buildings and terrain