• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
TrevorPeyton

DX11 Win32 C++ error

This topic is 2137 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey, I'm new here so if this isn't in the right place sorry. I put it in the DirectX section because I'm following this book:

http://www.amazon.com/Beginning-DirectX-11-Game-Programming/dp/1435458958

I am on the second chapter and well the first thing it does is teaches you how to display a window using WinApi. I have some knowledge but I'm not very familiar with this and don't know how to fix this error.

Here is the code:

#include<Windows.h>

LRESULT CALLBACK WndProc( HWND hwnd, UINT message, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam );

int WINAPI wWinMain( HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE prevInstance, LPWSTR cmdLine, int cmdShow )
{
    UNREFERENCED_PARAMETER( prevInstance );
    UNREFERENCED_PARAMETER( cmdLine );

WNDCLASSEX wndClass = {0};
    wndClass.cbSize = sizeof( WNDCLASSEX ) ;
    wndClass.style = CS_HREDRAW | CS_VREDRAW;
    wndClass.lpfnWndProc = WndProc;
    wndClass.hInstance = hInstance;
    wndClass.hCursor = LoadCursor( NULL, IDC_ARROW );
    wndClass.hbrBackground = ( HBRUSH )( COLOR_WINDOW + 1 );
    wndClass.lpszMenuName = NULL;
    wndClass.lpszClassName = "DX11BookWindowClass";

if(!RegisterClassEx(&wndClass))
		return-1;

RECT rc = {0, 0, 640, 480};
	AdjustWindowRect(&rc, WS_OVERLAPPEDWINDOW, FALSE);

HWND hwnd = CreateWindowA("DX11BookWindowClass", "Blank Win32 Window", WS_OVERLAPPEDWINDOW, CW_USEDEFAULT, CW_USEDEFAULT, rc.right - rc.left, rc.bottom - rc.top, NULL, NULL, hInstance, NULL);

if(!hwnd)
		return -1;

ShowWindow(hwnd, cmdShow);

MSG msg = {0};

while(msg.message != WM_QUIT)
	{
		if(PeekMessage(&msg, 0, 0, 0, PM_REMOVE))
		{
			TranslateMessage(&msg);
			DispatchMessage(&msg);
		}
		else
		{
			//Update
			//Draw
		}
	}

return static_cast<int>(msg.wParam);

}