a small presentation

Started by
2 comments, last by Tom Sloper 10 years, 6 months ago

Hi.

I am new to gamedev. Just wanted to say hello, and present myself along with some questions regarding this topic "writing for games".

Have been writing a few game ideas, stories and concepts lately, and is thinking of taking a study in game developing later on. I have few contacts to ask and work with on this matter, thinking a forum would be a good place to start.

For starters, I am 27 years old and have been a gamer since the early 90's. Been enjoying all the games in most topics that has made it to my attention. I love watching movies, taking great inspiration from all the scenes I've seen.

With all that in mind, I now know that developing games is the job I want to aim for.

The reason I wanted to start producing games myself, is that I get so frustrated when I play through so many brilliant games yet experience so many small errors that could easily be fixed. I guess a deadline can be a bitch not just for the developers, but also for the gamers enjoying the final product.

For some questions. I wonder how safe it is to show the entire game concept, and idea on a forum, before the game is in the making? Since someone with more resources can snap the idea and make it their own, before I make it as far as launching it. Not exactly any copyright over my ideas until the product is made. But then again I need to show people that there is some good ideas and not just talk, to get in touch with people that might be willing to team up, to make these games a reality.