[QUESTION] I need advice on which route to take into the video gaming industry

Started by
6 comments, last by Derek William Lawrence 10 years, 6 months ago
hey everybody,
Sorry if this is in the wrong thread if so could you pleas move it, thanks
i am looking for some help/advice.
I am 16 and I am looking to work in the video games industry and need some advice on which route to take.
I am in my final year of school (in which I am taking computer science at GCSE level).
I am going to go onto college next year to study English and computer science, each at A level and computer games designing at BTEC.
I am choosing to do these courses because I like the coding side and the designing side I also really enjoy writing. (In fact I am doing so game scripts through the classifieds.
Any advice or comments on the route that i should take?
thanks
Advertisement

You need to make a choice between designer and programmer to be honest, if you love programming more then designing a game go programming otherwise go design and stick to script languages.

Worked on titles: CMR:DiRT2, DiRT 3, DiRT: Showdown, GRID 2, theHunter, theHunter: Primal, Mad Max, Watch Dogs: Legion

I am going to go onto college next year to study English and computer science, each at A level and computer games designing at BTEC.
I am choosing to do these courses because I like the coding side and the designing side I also really enjoy writing. (In fact I am doing so game scripts through the classifieds.

I think you're doing the right thing, taking courses that interest you. If you have any specific questions, you should look at this forum's FAQs (I moved your post to the Game Industry Job Advice forum).

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

I think you're doing the right thing, taking courses that interest you. If you have any specific questions, you should look at this forum's FAQs (I moved your post to the Game Industry Job Advice forum).

thanks for the advice and for moving the thread happy.png