• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
NathanRidley

Logging my journey to learn game development

This topic is 2102 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I guess this is also my first forum post! I want to maintain a thread as a companion to the blog I've started, for two reasons (a) nobody knows my blog exists, and (b) sometimes I want to post and a whole blog post seems overkill when I only want to say something minor.

So.. yeah basically I've been a developer for around 15 years (mostly full-stack web development, with a focus on .Net), and although I've always wanted to develop games, my time has always been taken up by web development projects, which has also been my career. But though the whole reason I learned programming so long ago was because I wanted to make games, it just seems life got in the way! I know how to code, I've been doing it for a long time, I'm just very lacking in game-specific knowledge (3D programming, advanced maths, relevant algorithms, etc.). When I sat down with the intent to plot some raw pixels using DirectX, it was clear I had no idea what to do. I have some pretty big ideas, but it's going to take me some time to actually gain enough knowledge and experience to implement those ideas, so I've got a lot to learn first.