• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
MarcusM.

Indie Game Developer - Bit confused

This topic is 2102 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I would like to listen to your point of view when it comes to Java or C++. At least for my case.

I’m intereseted in working as freelancer on my own, some day go into Indie games. I’m not sure if i would like to learn java or c++ for this case and as somewhat my first fully known language. I have been speculating between languages for the past two years, and never actually understanded a language fully. Just got a a certain level within each language and then changed. At the moment i feel that i know java the best, but i also find it extremly hard because of the long syntaxes that it posesses.

I would believe i know the basic idea around everything from basic I/O, OOP (Classes/Methods/Parameters), Variables, IF/Else Conditions(Nested), For/While/Do-While loops, Arrays (Half through).

I would be very interested in starting with 2D games, like using Slick2D or Lwjgl for this very soon.

Or do you beleive i should take over to C++ instead? And if not, whats a valid and good point in my progress to expand over to game programming ? What more should i know? et cetra.

Best Regards

Advertisement
Choose carefully because both languages seem to be good. C++ seems to trust the programmer a bit more, and it might be faster if an experienced programmer knows what they're doing, but that's theory, because from what I hear, both are fast. If you feel more comfortable with Java, you can probably use that for now. Though C++ is a good language for games, so some people might urge you, with good points that I may or may not agree with, to use that :).

And if I were choosing a language right now, I would personally choose something different - Javascript or C#. Because I want to use Unity.