• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
mxion

SlimDX and LockRectangle blocks...

This topic is 2109 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi.

I'm pretty new to SlimDX/DirectX so bare with me. I have this application (programmed using Visual Studio 2008, .NET2, C#) that gets map tiles from an online service and then renders them on the screen. Tiles are fetched asynchronously (using multiple threads, core count - 1).

The problem is that when I call Texture.LockRectangle(0, LockFlags.None) the application freezes when I pan or zoom the chart. New tiles are fetched from the online service depending on how the map is panned/zoomed (like in e.g. Googe Maps). If I have gotten this right DirectX's Map is equivalent to LockRectangle and Unmap to UnlockRectangle. I have read some DirectX documentation but haven't found anything about blocking the calling thread.

I haven't programmed this application but I have to fix so I cannot provide you with any thorough description how it works. I'm just wondering is there a situation where LockRectangle blocks the calling thread until the previous lock/unlock has been processed? The method that uses LockRectangle also uses UnlockRectangle at the end. I've also put the code between inside try/catch but it never catches anythig - i.e. everything should be okay when it comes to calling this particular method. I've also used Console.WriteLine to ouput "lock" and "unlock" to see that there are event count of both. Natually the outputting ends in "lock" because the application freezes.