Sign in to follow this  
kaveldun

Registering script entities

kaveldun    142

Hello!

I am new to Angelscript and I would like some clarifications.

What I am trying to do.

I am making a game where all the specific entity logic should be implemented script side using Angelscript. On the application side, there will only be a general entity type, but on the script side there will be different types of entities with each having specific behaviours. For instance, you could create these two files:

//cow.as

class Cow : Entity

{

onFrame()

{

//cow log

}

}

//duck.as

class Duck : Entity

{

onFrame()

{

//duck logic

}

}

All the application would do is to call onFrame on a general entity type, which would call corresponding onFrame function. 

It should also be possible to create entities from the script, like so:

Entity newCow = createEntity("Cow");

Me trying to solve this:

The application will be responsible for creating and entities since it has to do a lot with them application side too, like physics and such. So I figured I need to register a factory function which returns an Entity@ as explained in the manual and various demos. A lot of these resources seem to refer to a "f()" function which I don't understand. I thought it was just an example function, but looking around in the forum and at samples, it seems like the f() function is actually something which shows up now and then. This line is from the game sample:

r = engine->RegisterObjectBehaviour("CGameObj", asBEHAVE_ADDREF, "void f()", asMETHOD(CGameObj, AddRef), asCALL_THISCALL); assert( r >= 0 );

and it has that "f()" function that I jut can't figure out and I haven't seen an explanation in the manual. Do you guys mind demystifying this function for me?