Sign in to follow this  
Kylus12

I want to make a Sonic the Hedgehog-esc game, I have no idea where to start

I really want to make a game like Sonic. Because of it being so important to my childhood, I want to make a game very similar to it having to run fast through levels and defeat enemies.  I have no knowledge when it comes to programming, music, sound, or graphics.  But I would do anything that it takes to learn how to do these different things.  It doesn't matter to me what language it comes in, I just want to make something!

I really want to make a game like Sonic. Because of it being so important to my childhood, I want to make a game very similar to it having to run fast through levels and defeat enemies.  I have no knowledge when it comes to programming, music, sound, or graphics.  But I would do anything that it takes to learn how to do these different things.  It doesn't matter to me what language it comes in, I just want to make something!

In that case, try Scirra Construct 2 or Game Maker Studio for making the game. They are powerful enough for a Sonic game, but their scripting abilities make making games with them faster than pure programming, as in, making the game is generally faster and easier. Making a character fast is simple, because all it means is changing a few physics parameters and testing.

Thanks, just I have absolutely no idea where I have to start.  Where to I get all of the assets needed to complete it, graphics, music, and sound???

Thanks, just I have absolutely no idea where I have to start.  Where to I get all of the assets needed to complete it, graphics, music, and sound???

I'm not sure of the legality of using assets from the Sonic game, so I'm not going to recommend it, or search out where you can find them.

There are some tutorials for making art that can be found here: http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/pixel-art-tutorials/