Sign in to follow this  
DANNER

Creating a Structured Game World Loader

So I've been working on my own 3D Engine (written in C++) for some time now with the intent that it be highly structured with separate subsystems that are not tightly coupled.  i.e. The visibility subsystem is completely independent of the rendering API and  the majority of the engine is rendering API agnostic.   To that end, I've also decoupled all the file loading from the rest of the engine (I don't know if it exactly adheres to the MVC pattern since I'm not a app programmer by trade, but it's close I suppose).

Here how it works: Just about every resource (entity, light, texture, shader) is specified in an XML file.  To load the objects there is a Builder class which creates these descriptor objects.  All these descriptors look similar the following:

class CDescriptorEntity
{
public:
    CDescriptorEntity();
    virtual ~CDescriptorEntity();

typedef enum EClassEnum
    {
        ENTITY_CLASS_NONE,
        ENTITY_CLASS_GENERIC
        ENTITY_CLASS_PLAYER
    } EClass;

// Lots and lots of Get property methods called
    // by the actual game object to set it self up

const char* GeEntityName() const
    {
        return m_entityName.c_str();
    }

EClass GetClass() const
    {
        return m_class;
    }

const CVector3& GetPos() const
    {
        return m_pos;
    }

const char* GetModelName() const
    {
        return m_modelName.c_str();
    }

// Even more GetXXX() method I'm not showing here
protected:
    // Storage for each of the properties[/color]
    std::string m_entityName;
    EClass m_class;
    CVector3 m_pos;
    std::string m_modelName;

}; 

These descriptor classes don't actually load the data.  They simply store it.  Instead a subclass loads it from the XML file (I use libXML btw to actually get the xml config file parsed)

class CDescriptorEntityLibXML : public CDescriptorEntity
{
public:
    CDescriptorEntityLibXML();
    virtual ~CDescriptorEntityLibXML();