Sign in to follow this  
NathanRidley

OpenGL Abstracting away DirectX, OpenGL, etc.

I'm a bit torn. I'm just learning graphics programming, but I want to make sure I use good practices as I go. Typically, when writing a web/business application I would separate the presentation layer from the business layer (typical 3-tier design) and ensure that the different layers are loosely coupled, with a proper separation of concerns between the different components and so forth. That is all old-hat to me, but game programming is new, so I'm trying to work out what might be different than how I'd normally approach things, due to performance concerns and other game-specific problem areas.

In my case, I'm using SharpDX, which exposes DirectX via a managed wrapper, and it provides a bunch of really useful classes, such as SharpDX.Vector3, which has a whole lot of handy utility methods, mainly for performing various types of transforms.

Despite its usefulness, I feel like I should not use this in my game because it will force me to reference SharpDX which will sting me if I decide to swap in OpenGL for rendering. Or am I thinking too low-level, and really I should be wrapping the actual vertex structures I use as well so that anything dealing directly with a vertex is more of a rendering engine detail?

Any tips, advice, pointers to good articles, etc, would be appreciated.

Seems the search feature could have come in handy before I posted.

Specific to my question:

http://www.gamedev.net/topic/546381-abstracting-graphics-libraries-from-the-game-engine/

Similar questions (and answers):

http://www.gamedev.net/index.php?s=16ccd0198d5732e4da4c2d8f3348cc0c&app=googlecse#gsc.tab=0&gsc.q=abstracting

I think it's important at this stage to decide if supporting OpenGL in the future is something you actually want to do.