• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
keinegutennamen

Unity Run-time Terrain Generation (long time coder, first time game dev)

This topic is 2074 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been developing for 25 years and suddenly had the urge to create a game for fun.  So I am completely new to game development.  After doing a little research I have settled on Unity as the platform I will use.

I want to be able to dynamically generate, at run-time, a terrain for my little game.  I have seen a few toolkits that generate terrains that can be used with Unity but these are done at design-time.

I have also seen a couple of posts here from people saying they are using different kinds of noise maps to generate their terrain on the fly.  I think this is the direction I want to go but I am not sure.

I am looking to generate a small playing area.  It won't be growing so I don't need to worry about continuous generation.  It's just a 1 time generation (and eventually a save and load) as their little world.  It would be small...maybe 2000 x 2000 units.  I would like it to be somewhat smooth in the way elevations work (i.e. I don't want a minecrafty type world but a smoother appearance).  The camera will never be first person but will instead be looking down on (hopefully) the full map from above.

My questions are:

• Terminology - Instead of feeling my way through this, can someone give me a basic rundown of the terminology used for this type of work (specifically terrain generation)?  That way I can research how to accomplish something like that (right now I don't even know what to search for)
  • Noise Maps or Voxel Terrains - Are noise maps the way to go (read recommended) for generating terrain on the fly?  Or would a Voxel Terrain be better?  Again...don't want minecraft type terrains.  Better methods?