Advertisement Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
markypooch

To much computation in my shader?

This topic is 1888 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone,

I'm running into some dfficulty with implementing a multiple point light algorithm in my shaders.

It works, however it's lagging up a devil!

Im still pretty new to Graphics programming.

Below is my .fx file

Texture2D                colorMap[2]            : register(t0);
SamplerState            colorSampler        : register(s0);

cbuffer world : register(b0)
{
    matrix worldMat;
}

cbuffer view  : register(b1)
{
    matrix viewMat;
}

cbuffer proj  : register(b2)
{
    matrix projMat;
}

struct Light
{
    float3 dir;
    float  range;
    float3 att;
    float4 diffuse;
    float4 ambient;
};

cbuffer LightCB  : register(b0)
{
    Light light[107];
}

struct VS_Input
{
    float4 pos     : POSITION;
    float2 tex     : TEXCOORD;
    float3 norm    : NORMAL;
    float3 binorm  : BINORMAL;
    float3 tang    : TANGENT;
};

struct PS_Input
{
    float4 pos     : SV_POSITION;
    float4 wPos    : POSITION;
    float2 tex     : TEXCOORD;
    float3 norm    : NORMAL;
    float3 binorm  : BINORMAL;
    float3 tang    : TANGENT;
};

PS_Input VS(VS_Input vertex)
{
    PS_Input vsOut = (PS_Input)0;

vsOut.pos = mul(vertex.pos, worldMat);
    vsOut.pos = mul(vsOut.pos , viewMat);
    vsOut.pos = mul(vsOut.pos , projMat);

vsOut.norm = mul(vertex.norm, worldMat);
    vsOut.norm = normalize(vsOut.norm);

vsOut.binorm = mul(vertex.binorm, worldMat);
    vsOut.binorm = normalize(vsOut.binorm);

vsOut.tang   = mul(vertex.tang, worldMat);
    vsOut.tang   = normalize(vsOut.tang);

vsOut.wPos   = mul(vertex.pos, worldMat);
    vsOut.tex = vertex.tex;

return vsOut;
}

float4 PS(PS_Input texel) : SV_TARGET
{
    float3 finalColor = float3(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);