Advertisement Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
SelethD

What Language or Languages for Web and Mobile Apps

This topic is 1866 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

If this is not the correct forum, my apologies.  I thought, since I am a beginner to web or mobile games, this would be the best place to ask the quesiton.

I have been programming 'forever' in C++ and recently in C# with a sprinkle of Java thrown in for flavor.  However, all my games or apps are the standard .exe, run this in windows, variety.

Recently though, I have been trying to learn what language or languages I need to know to make games on a mobile device or that can be played from a web site.

I know the Apple market is fairly proprietary, and thus not owning a Mac, I dont think I have any possibility for developing anything for the IOS market.

The Android market, has so many different devices I'm confused of which one I should target (or if I even need to target anything specific) and definately what is the best Game Creation language to program it in.

I would love for my little games to not only be played on a mobile device, but also be playable from a web browser.  So I'm not sure if I could use the same language, or if the mobile device, and the web based, would need different languages for the program to be in.

My apologies if this is an 'over asked' question.  I promise you I have googled myself silly over the last few weeks trying to find answers.  I seriously just have lousy luck searching for answers.

BTW, I am only able to code from a windows platform.

Thanks in advance for any advice, or links you can provide to help me make the transition into the web / mobile device gaming arena.

Advertisement

You basically have two options: Create native apps or create packaged web apps.