• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Jacob Daniel Dinsmore

What programming language should I learn for RPG? Game engine?

This topic is 2138 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am very new to game creation and have some questions about it. I want to create a RPG but I have no programming knowledge past the "hello world" test. I was wondering what the best programming language to learn would be to create a RPG. Also wondering what the best engine would be to develop a RPG on. I have some experience with UDK but I'm willing to learn how to use other engines. 

Here are some of the basic things I want in my RPG. I want it to be a first person party based RPG with the ability to Co-Op with other players. I want it for the PC. It will have 12 different classes and at least 6 playable races. Heavily stat based. In depth professions and crafting. Open world free roam somewhat like in Oblivion. Deep story line and quests. And huge amounts of content as far as weapons, armor, monsters, ect.. 

Pretty much my game plan is to find out what the best programming language is, and then keep developing my game on paper while I learn it. Once I feel I've learned enough to get started, I will, probably years down the road. 

I know that this post leaves a lot unsaid. Please point out anything I'm missing and I'm open to all criticism as long as its productive in some way. 

Also if anyone has any books that they think will be helpful to learn your suggested language, please let me know.

Advertisement
The only engines that come to mind are unity - multiple languages, udk - unrealscsipt and source engine - not sure, maybe torque - torquescript. Cryengine requires an internet connection everytime you want to develop your game and that is not safe :/.