• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Sckuz

Dreamcast

This topic is 2136 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey, I'm a video game programmer who's goal is to move his current programming to the Sega Dreamcast. Does anyone have links to help me accomplish this? I was looking for stuff to buy and i don't exactly know how i should purchase items. I was thinking DC Linux. I have a keyboard from the PSO days, somewhere. I was moderately addicted to PSO. 

Anyway... I Like DC Linux and would prefer it, but would you guys mind if i used any links you have at your disposal? Do you think purchasing a broadband adapter or burning programs to disks would work?

I was addicted to PSO in the dial-up days. I'm also searching to get my DC working on broadband. I still have the ancient Dreamcast standard dial modem. .

Any advise?? I'm looking to start anew completely, On Dreamcast, preferably.

Edited by Sckuz

Advertisement
There are good Dreamcast emulators, which can run disk images. Use them, since testing whatever you develop is going to be greatly faster and cheaper than burning disks and placing them in an actual console.

Do you mean to use LinuxDC to compile your code?  If so, then I'm not sure what to tell you.  Otherwise, I'd recommend you get KallistiOS, which was recently updated to version 2.0.  You can use an SD card adapter and DreamShell (you can use the ISO make pack on that page to create ISOs for the SD card) if you can't afford a Broadband Adapter for deploying and testing on your Dreamcast.  A serial cable would be beneficial if you are debugging your programs (of course, you can't use both the serial cable and the SD card adapter), or you could use the Broadband Adapter to send debug messages.