• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
JoeMM

How to manage latency when filling buffers

This topic is 2133 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi,

I'm having a problem with my shadows on D3D, that I can only assume is fairly common. I have a lot of experience of console development but I'm not so hot on D3D...

The problem is that D3D seems to be introducing some sort of buffering into the filling of my structured buffers. So the light view and proj that I use during the generation of the shadow map (read via constant buffers) is what I expect, but it does not match the values used during the sampling thereof (read from a structured buffer of light properties). So as soon as the light moves (and/or camera for cascades) the shadow wobbles, as the light position (etc) used for the shadow map is a few frames ahead of what's in the structured buffers.

I can "work around" this by adding latency into the values I put in the constant buffer, but that's not a very robust solution...

It's quite possible I've done something stupid, as this is nothing fancy - the only slightly unusual thing is that my light data is read from a structured buffer during the lighting pass.

I've tried N-buffering my structured buffers to see if that helps remove any internal buffering but to no avail. In both cases (constant buffer and structured buffer) I'm updating the buffer with UpdateSubresource().

How do I control / remove / manage this latency?

Any thoughts much appreciated..! 

Cheers,

Joe

Advertisement