Sign in to follow this  
rferk

How to code/design an area map for a first-person-view point-and-click game

My question is about how best to set up / code an area map for a first-person-view point-and-click adventure game (think Myst). I am working in python, but python-specific answers are not necessary - it's more about the general game/code design.

A bit of background first:

I am not a programmer, nor a game developer, and only a casual gamer. And yet...somehow I've gotten into a bit of coding with Python. It started simply, as a way to help automate GIS tasks for work. But the book I read to learn Python involved learning by making simple "games" (like hangman, blackjack, and such). Somehow, while watching my hubby play his RPG games, or playing myself, I found myself constantly thinking about how it was implemented in the background, and thought: wouldn't it be cool to do something like that.

Now obviously I'm aware of the fact that such a task would be WAYYY beyond me, but I thought it might be good to at least learn better OOP skills by making a (much more simplistic) game. Something more than just a card game.

I started out thinking that I would do an IF-like text-adventure game, but soon decided to try out pygame and make it more graphic. At the moment, my intent is for a (simple and small) point-and-click adventure like I remember playing as a kid. Because I don't think I'm ready yet for animating character sprites moving across a screen, I hope to do a first-person-view game like Myst and Riven (minus the animation). Thus, a given "room" or "location" would be a single image, and the user would navigate to a new "room" or "location" (and thus see a new image) by clicking on a right or left or forward arrow, etc.