Relentless238

Complete Beginner Programmer... where to start

Relentless238    113
Hey game dev community. My name is Connor(Relentless), and I recently got interested in the career of game development. I'm 16 years old right now and am thinking about my future career and this is what I chose. I am an avid gamer and creative person so I think I would enjoy this a lot.

I understand that game development is a long and tedious job but I want to do it. So I was wondering where do I need to start? I'm completely new to programming and haven't written a string of code in my life. I tried to look up what to do on google but there are so many options I thought id come here before I start anything. So where do I start, what langauge,etc?

Thanks - Relentless

BHXSpecter    3119

Depends on what part of the industry you want. Programming? C, C++, C#, Java, Python, Lua, etc. Designing the game? GameMaker or Unity, among others. Game development is kind of a umbrella phrase as it generically covers design, programming, art, music, etc. What part of game development are you interested in? 

Rifts605    240

Just as BHXSpecter stated, it depends on which area of the industry you are planning to join. And, although I am young like you(only 14), and very much still a novice, I have did my research.