what you suggest for manipulating data in a game? (c#)

Started by
6 comments, last by jHaskell 10 years, 3 months ago

ok first of all im a beginner with no experience in game programming.

im still learning and making tutorials every day in my process to understand c#

ok here is my question, what is the "best" (or most convenient) way to handle game data?

for example i have a classic battlefield which is basically a n X n square, is it convenient to use sql or just an array is enough and more fast?

what if i have dynamic database? for example if i make an RTS(no im not even thinking of making one, dont worry :D ) the unit list would be changing in number (when i create or destroy them) and maybe even changing in data (upgrade units, damage them etc)

is in this case best to go sql or again just a simpler solution would be enough?

what you suggest as general rule of thumbs for a general basic enviroment(map+ entities+entities stats) ?

Advertisement

first, if you wanna update these infomation(unit lost, damage change, hp change...) you can just do it in your game, no need to save them into database.

second, sometime you want to save these infomation(player want to save game) you can save them to text file, or binary file, database system is not needed.

in case i dont understand your question :D and you really want to save your data while game is running. i think it's impossible. because every frame, your game changes(unit move, fight, ....) and you must query EVERY frame, which intensely rape your fps.

first, if you wanna update these infomation(unit lost, damage change, hp change...) you can just do it in your game, no need to save them into database.

second, sometime you want to save these infomation(player want to save game) you can save them to text file, or binary file, database system is not needed.