• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
kostasrag

Making a game: reducing workload ?

This topic is 2069 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

ok guys i want to make my own RTS startegy game ( similar to SC2 / AOE 3/LoTR Battle for middle earth 2 ) you know the classic 

keep>barracks>defensive towers> units thing . 

since i am complete noob i did some personal research and i have a couple of questions. 

the workload is way too much for a beginner to surpass by himself, so i wandered , since the basic mechanics of all RTS are the same , unit management/movement/creation/building upgrades are the same ( some have more advanced code making gaming experience better though) is it possible for me to get the source code from open source games like hostile worlds/megaglest/age of empires and use to create my coding base? ofcourse i will have to do adjustments  to fit my game but is it possible to use another's game source code in my game engie ( unity / UDK) to jump through the start up/ basic mechanics coding and focus myself more on the art? 

Also are there any other ways to reduce workload by using existing games as base?

Edited by kostasrag

Advertisement

Using an existing project might only reduce some workload. It depends on how exactly the same you want your title to be. If you need any special requirements (even say, C&C infrantrymen, if you want them to fire more often than they do in the core game) youll have to find the area in the code that does that and make your tweaks, test to make sure nothing breaks, and move on.