NodeJS: Virtual Game World Framework

Started by
10 comments, last by Phuein 10 years, 1 month ago

EDIT 11.2.2014: Within the week, I will link to the live version of the project on OpenShift. Git link has been updated!

EDIT 15.2.2014: Live developers' testing version is now available! game.AssafKoss.com

EDIT 3.3.2014: The project is being updated regularly, and some developers have already shared their ideas and solutions, in private. The project's client has been severely updated, to accommodate for the client-side testing of things. It is still available at Game.AssafKoss.com.

I have been working on and off, for the past several months, on this project of mine.

The purpose of this project is to create a flexible & stable virtual game world framework, server and concept clients, so as to answer the inflexibility and common limitations contemporary games suffer.

It seems that current games, even the massive (well funded) ones, are still designed over the single-player framework of the past, without taking into account the special needs of a virtual world full of live (meat) players (heroes.) At least, it seems so to me, and so I have made clear goals that answer this need.

More details in the README.

https://github.com/phuein/NodeWorld-OpenShift

The scale of the project has become overwhelming just for me to work on. I thought I could get a good concept out there, just by myself. And although I have done much & good, I find myself stunned. The code is very orderly & clean, even at the expense of some efficiency, for the sake of readability / accessibility.

It is NodeJS. It is very modular. It is designed for modularity. Details in the README.

It has two main purposes:

1. Compatibility between all client types: Text, 2D, & 3D. The server parses between them, as best as it can.