Performance guidelines?

Started by
2 comments, last by davidlee80 10 years, 2 months ago

Hi, I've recently taken up my game development again after a couple of years doing other stuff. I've created a basic 3D renderer to the point where I'm getting some geometry on screen with non-shadowed point light shading. Now I want to expand this with some culling, additional light sources and some more materials etc. Nothing too fancy, just the basics. When I studied 3D graphics, the main performance consideration involved culling, even sub-mesh. "The fastest triangles are the ones not drawn". These days I've gotten the impression that it might be better to draw a few extra triangles than to make more api calls.

I was hoping people could give me some rough high-level guidelines on what to do and what to avoid. Reducing draw calls, switching shaders, setting shader parameters, reducing total triangles, ..

Advertisement

This is a difficult question to answer with a yes or no, or 'you should do a b and c'.

It all depends on the context, target hardware/ specs, your goals etc.

But as a guideline, I try to keep the following principles in mind:

- profile, profile and profile again. Not in FPS, but ms per frame. Personally if I stay within 'v-sync' range (< 16.7ms) on acceptable hardware, I'm ok with it

- prevent 30 draw calls of 100 triangles, better 3x 1000

- sorting on materials, meshes, state sets and shaders will save state changes/ buffer changes

I would just give it a go, have fun, implement stuff and then check and profile.

Assuming that your codebase will be flexible enough to make changes depending on the profiling.

Crealysm game & engine development: http://www.crealysm.com

Looking for a passionate, disciplined and structured producer? PM me