• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
fir

what gcc options use to optymize exe

This topic is 2075 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am using mingw (i am new to it) and running some very simple raytracing

stuff i noticed this kind of results, when compile and run

no -Ox flag   22 ms

-O1     12 ms

-O2    12 ms

-O3   6.5 ms

so it is quite shocking difference (I was thinking 22 ms was slow for 

simple calculations i do, 7 ms is ok)

I am using winXp and old core2duo machine

what could i set yet?,

Does maybe someone know what instruction set is generated? what to set here?

also - Need i only use -O3 with critical .o module or with all other modules too?

Advertisement

Start by making sure you have a modern version of gcc. Compiling the module that contains your inner loop with -O3 is the most important thing. You might get some mileage out of `-flto' (both in compilation and linking commands), which allows the compiler to inline functions across modules. Then you can try profile-based optimizations (where you compile your program with -fprofile-generate, run it on some test cases and then compile it again with -fprofile-use).

For more information: http://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc-4.8.2/gcc/Optimize-Options.html

Start by making sure you have a modern version of gcc. Compiling the module that contains your inner loop with -O3 is the most important thing. You might get some mileage out of `-flto' (both in compilation and linking commands), which allows the compiler to inline functions across modules. Then you can try profile-based optimizations (where you compile your program with -fprofile-generate, run it on some test cases and then compile it again with -fprofile-use).

For more information: http://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc-4.8.2/gcc/Optimize-Options.html

I am using 

c:\MinGW\bin>g++ -v
Using built-in specs.