I have a degree and experience, what should I be doing next?

Started by
4 comments, last by wh1036 10 years, 2 months ago
My long-term goal is to be a game producer, but for now I'm interested in breaking into the industry at all. That's a very common story, so let me tell you about myself. I have a bachelor's degree in management and an associate's degree in IT. In the time I was earning those I worked as a restaurant manager and had a year-long internship at a local game developer (small company, has been around about 10 years). At my internship I mainly did customer support and QA along with taking notes in production meetings. I have spent the last 2 years working in tech support at a college and teaching myself game design using Unity.

I am wondering what I should do next to try to break into the game industry. A job as an assistant or associate producer, or anything business related would be amazing, but I'm wondering if applying for QA or customer support jobs would be more realistic. Being a new dad, free time is hard to come by and I'm wondering what I should be focusing on now. Am at the right level to be considered for any of the previously mentioned jobs, or if I should be concentrating on learning more about the industry? Will game companies be at all interested in my internship or food service management experience, or only full-time game industry experience? Any advice?
Advertisement

My long-term goal is to be a game producer, but for now I'm interested in breaking into the industry
- bachelor's degree in management and an associate's degree in IT. I
- worked as a restaurant manager
- had a year-long internship at a local game developer... did customer support and QA along with taking notes in production meetings.
- I have spent the last 2 years working in tech support at a college and teaching myself game design using Unity.

I am wondering what I should do next to try to break into the game industry.

Being a new dad, free time is hard to come by