Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How to use GluLookAt () ?

This topic is 5887 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Good day ! I am still new in OpenGL programming. I try to use GluLookAt() to manipulate the view of my scene. Weird enough, I get no effect at all after I add the code inside the Display() function. I wonder what''s wrong with it ? Where should I implement GluLookAt actually ? I mean in which function ? in Init() ? in Display() ? Thanks a lot !

gluLookAt(..) takes nine parameters.

the first three are the "camera's" x, y, and z coordinates, the next three are the coordinates that its looking at, and the next three are statically 0,1,0.

so,

gluLookAt(0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 5.0, 5.0, 5.0, 0, 1, 0);

the above line would position the camera at 0,0,0 and you'd be looking at 5,5,5...

If you want everything to be upside down, have the last three be 0,-1,0... The are the camera tilt coords.

Anyway, have fun, and remember that its only the first six that you really want.

BTW, you would use this function somewhere before you draw your code, probably after you stacked a matrix, but I would place it in my rendering function.

~Zeus

Edited by - Zeus_ on October 31, 2001 9:10:59 AM

void gluLookAt(GLdouble eyex, GLdouble eyey, GLdouble eyez, GLdouble centerx, GLdouble centery, GLdouble centerz, GLdouble upx, GLdouble upy, GLdouble upz);

Parameters
eyex, eyey, eyez
The position of the eye point.
centerx, centery, centerz
The position of the reference point.
upx, upy, upz
The direction of the up vector.

Remarks