How does your Pseudocode look?

Started by
22 comments, last by 100GPing100 10 years, 1 month ago

Okay, so I have to look for ways to do stuff fast since I am a lone developer who is new to all of this stuff. So far I know I can get a working game going, my only hangups are quality animation and the time it takes to code and debug the code. So, I am trying to speed up my coding skills (not focusing on optimization) so that I can get an idea up and going.

I have found that the best way to start out the coding process is by:

1) Thinking about what you want to do

3) Write pseudocode for what you want to do
2) Determining the PROGRAMMING COUNTERPARTS. For example, the programming counterpart to jumping is adding a force in the up direction).
3) Figuring out how the API does it
4) Fill in the pseudocode with the API stuff.

So, say I wanted to make a character jump simply by typing the name of the character, and the word "jump."

man.Jump()

This is how I would want it to work. So it seems I need a class and a function that adds a force in the up direction when it is called.

Another example:

cut_scene.Begin()
cut_scene.End()

I need a function that starts video playback and another that stops it. Etc. Perhaps the cut_scene part would be a class or something?

So, how do you do your pseudocode? Or do you even use pseudocode? I just want some ideas on how others do it.

They call me the Tutorial Doctor.

Advertisement

I only write pseudocode if I'm trying to explain something on a forum post. I tend to just write real code personally. If I'm working on something really complex I'll sometimes add dummy methods that I fill in later on so I can get the overall structure together, similar to what you describe - I might write an empty jump() method that I'll implement later once I've got it being called in a context.