auto generate mahjong level with at least 1 way to win

Started by
7 comments, last by jbadams 10 years ago

Hello everybody, Im new in game programing.

I decided to make a game like mahjong but simpler than it !

there are n tiles marked with char A-Z, they are arranged into many layer of pyramid shape . The bottom layer will have mxm tiles , the top layer will have 2x2 tiles . Here is the sample :

532Qyx7.jpg

Game rule : User will pick 2 tiles, if they have same char then remove both . User win the game when all tiles are removed.

The problem is : How to auto generate the level randomly with at least 1 way to win . Please help , im stuck with this problem ! Thank a lot guy !

Advertisement

There are several different Mah-Jongg rules out there. It is a multi-person game much like Rummy and similar card game variants.

If you just mean the solitaire matching game (which is not Mah-Jongg but sometimes called that) then you can build up a layout in reverse. Start by placing a pair of tiles, then place another pair of tiles, then another, then another, until all the tiles are placed. It is guaranteed winnable since you can exactly reverse the order. Just be careful to build in a somewhat regular manner to avoid adjacent tiles that you cannot place.

There are several different Mah-Jongg rules out there. It is a multi-person game much like Rummy and similar card game variants.

If you just mean the solitaire matching game (which is not Mah-Jongg but sometimes called that) then you can build up a layout in reverse. Start by placing a pair of tiles, then place another pair of tiles, then another, then another, until all the tiles are placed. It is guaranteed winnable since you can exactly reverse the order. Just be careful to build in a somewhat regular manner to avoid adjacent tiles that you cannot place.