Need help with 2D oscillation

Started by
30 comments, last by Waylander 10 years ago

I'm working in XNA but my problem is the math so I posted here.

FYI I am very new to this kind of math and I've been studying hard. I am to the point where I "think" I can solve this myself but once I try to work it out, I draw a blank.

Simply put, I am wanting sprites to oscillate (sine/cosine?) in a wave-like pattern along their vector. I've found several options that work with going along in a straight line along the X axis and I believe I understand how those work. However, my sprites aren't moving straight along the X axis and unfortunately I haven't found anything that is specific to what I'm after. Their vector can vary in basically any direction. What I don't know how to do is take the information from their vector and use it to create the oscillation I am after.

Any ideas?

Ulfhedhin

Advertisement

You don't provide much detail, but it can be as simple as choosing a 2D point and a direction.

Position2D = sin(angle) * magnitude * vector2DDirection + point2D

Works in any number of dimensions. Pick a magnitude for the maximum displacement from the point. Because sin(angle) will vary from -1 to +1, the position will vary by -magnitude to +magnitude (provided that vector2D is a unit vector) along the direction either "side" of the point.

E.g., a direction vector = ( 0.707, 0.707 ) will result in an oscillation along the 45 degree line through the point.

You could use cos(angle) instead. That will produce the same oscillation, but just be out of phase with a sine based oscillation.

In time-based terms,

P(t) = P0 + L*sin(w*t)*Vdir

w is an angular frequency constant (or variable if you want) in units of radians/sec. t is time. L is the maximum distance from P0. Vdir is a unit direction vector.

Please don't PM me with questions. Post them in the forums for everyone's benefit, and I can embarrass myself publicly.