• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Leow Jun Jie Donald

How to make a Game Engine For Super Beginners?

This topic is 2014 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all,

I understand that there are already quite a few threads out there, but it seems that most of them are about the pros and cons of certain stuff in the game engine, or either that it's just a bunch of theories here and there. Perhaps I didn't look hard enough or either that I'm just really noob to not catch certain stuff mentioned.

So getting to the main point, my questions are what does a game engine really need? How to structure the engine in a industry-standard structure? (I'm still a student, but I'm going to graduate soon...) And last but not least, how do we make a game using this engine in question?

It depends on the situation, some might say, so I shall narrow down the question here. Let's say we're making a 2D RPG game engine that uses C++ and OpenGL as its programming languages.

From I have understood so far, a game engine is a program where a programmer does his magic on to create the game, and contains functions that instantly creates basic game mechanics that is needed in a game.

Can anyone change or add on to the sentence, and perhaps answer my the three questions as stated?

With regards,

Donald Leow

( P.S. Sorry if I sound weird or arrogant, as some have told me. I tend to sound like this when I try to ask questions...I apologize for my inability to ask questions in a normal way. )

Edited by donaldleow

Advertisement

Well for a start if it's for 2D games, I wouldn't use OpenGL directly. I'd rather something like SDL2 which will take care of all the OpenGL stuff for you as well as giving you lots of great features like input checking.

The question is:

Do you want to make games?

or

Do you want to make a game engine?

^This.