What beginner langauge is better for a smooth 2d platforming game?

Started by
7 comments, last by JA Howe 10 years ago

I am looking for a new language to start on so I can get into the Indie business. I am a beginner at programming stuff and I am thinking what is a good program for a smooth 2d platformer game like meat boy. I think Meat Boy was made in C++,but is there something I can make close to a game like Meat Boy. I heard that C++ is not that good for beginners.

Advertisement

When you say you are a beginner at programming, what language do you have knowledge in?

When you say you are a beginner at programming, what language do you have knowledge in?

Game Maker Language. I do have some knowledge like have to make a very simple object to control and some basics. Not that much. I am hoping to find a good language to get into the indie stuff for maybe commercial use.

It is not about the language, it is about you. I have seen people with a phd in DSP being unable to program complex code but being able to solve complex integration equations.

The language is just a syntax, java or c# tend to make it easier since they correct somehow what is complex in c and c++ but internally it is a still the same. They hide complexity but it is still there.

On top of that, game is not only about programming but also about math and physics so you would need to understand vectors and trig pretty well for a start.

Though maybe you should try engines like unity is making it easy to start. And you can choose between c# or a JavaScript syntax language.

It is not about the language, it is about you. I have seen people with a phd in DSP being unable to program complex code but being able to solve complex integration equations.

The language is just a syntax, java or c# tend to make it easier since they correct somehow what is complex in c and c++ but internally it is a still the same. They hide complexity but it is still there.