Programming Skills but no diploma (yet)

Started by
4 comments, last by Mouser9169 9 years, 11 months ago

Hello everyone,

My name is Aladine, am 20 years old computer science student and i really want to have a successful career as game programmer.

I've been learning game programming for more than 4 years now, and am sure that you all now the struggles we face in the beginning (specially when you are not following the right path)

anyway,

in the last 6 months, i was working as a freelancer for different clients who wanted some simple 2d games (match 3, flappy bird, make up, dressing, simple runner, etc..) and surprisingly i did pretty good rolleyes.gif and the payment is not bad at all (for my age and country, am from Tunsia) and now am developing with a friend (artist) our unique games, we already made the design documents for 4 small games, the first one should be out next week.

Now what i want to ask about is the following :

-Being able to make games is enough to get you in a game development studio ? and am not talking for big studios like Ubisoft, or EA, am asking about small (but not very small) studios who make casual games or studios like DoubleFines who make super cool game but not with the budget and size of a AAA game (it's the perfect choice)

Note that i have a very good *game programming* level with Java and C#, and 90% of the time i made my games with Unity3D and am really REALLY suffering in my current college, the education level in public university is very low and i cannot afford the private ones, so am feeling like am wasting my time since everything i need to know am learning it online, so again and just to make it straight to the point,

Does game studios look for your diploma or your portfolio when you apply for them ?