2D Platformer Collision Correction?

Started by
2 comments, last by BeerNutts 9 years, 11 months ago

Hey there,

I'm pretty new to Game Development and am just learning mostly theory and simple physics by developing a HTML5 Canvas Game before moving on to other languages (Being a Web Developer all I had to learn was the Canvas API).

I'm having some issues with my Collision Detection/Correction. To put it simply, here is a run down of what happens to the Player Entity in every loop:

1. Apply the physics to a temporary X and Y Co-ordinates to find the new position of the Player (E.g. Friction and Gravity)
  2. Generate points around the sprite to check for collisions and assign them directions (Which allows for collision correction based on the direction of the collision)
  3. Loop through each of the points, find the Tile each point is on and check whether it is solid. If it is, mark that direction (The direction linked to the point, that I created earlier) as solid.
  4. After checking all of the points, only apply the physics to X and/or Y if no collision is detected for that direction.

The issue is, that when it's finished checking for collisions, if the player is falling the collision for Left and Right will be triggered, as well as Down. This is because it doesn't order collisions; or limit it to just one collision per loop. Here is a "pseudo-code" version of the loop:

LOOP

tempX = x
    tempY = y

IF up_arrow IS pressed THEN

IF NOT jumping AND grounded THEN

jumping = TRUE
            grounded = FALSE
            yVelocity = -(speed / 2) * 2 // Ignore division and then multiplication by 2, as I'll be using one as a modifier

END IF

END IF

IF left_arrow IS pressed THEN

IF xVelocity < speed THEN
            xVelocity++
        END IF

END IF

IF right_arrow IS pressed THEN

IF xVelocity > -speed THEN
            xVelocity--
        END IF

END IF

xVelocity *= friction
    yVelocity += gravity
    grounded = false