• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Chris_G151

Looking for input on a design.

This topic is 1586 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone,

I'm working on a game interface design for a class and need some input from the dev community. This is my first attempt gathering feedback like this so bear with me.

The working title for my game is Lunar Legacy. It mixes space combat, rts/resource management, and third person action. Control will be handled by the 360 controller or similar device.

Here are three specific interface functions that I could use some suggestions and input for.
1. The way I would like the map to work would be similar to other open world games. The difference being that the player has the ability to zoom out into a rts style view at any time. I like the idea of switching but would like to know the best way to approach it.

2. The bulk of the game takes place on the lunar surface. The mission structure should be dynamic enough to change depending on the player's choice of base development. There will be limited resources but nearly unlimited combinations and locations. I have a feeling if I do not implement pre-made structures, the build screen could become confusing. I do like the way Rust handles this but am looking for a simpler execution that can be handled by a controller.

3. The last function deals with the players movement in low gravity. My first thought was to use jet packs with forward and reverse thrust. I eventually decided I like the gravity boot approach. This makes staying on man made structures important during combat but also usefull for traversal around the environment.

Thanks for any ideas or input!

Advertisement

1) Is it just me, or are we getting a LOT of "interface design project" advice submissions lately?