Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Maiku

Java or C++ first?

Hey you guys, I am new to programming. Infact, the only language I know is HTML... But I would like to learn. Would you guys suggest learning Java, or C/C++ first? And, what are the pro''s and con''s of those two languages? Thanks for your help! -Mike aka Maiku

Just an initial disclaimer: neither way is truly ''better''. My personal stance is that you should learn C++ first. I even have the weirder ideas that you should learn C before C++. However, there should be tons of people disagreeing with me that reply shortly, so take everything we suggest as just that, a suggestion.

[Resist Windows XP''s Invasive Production Activation Technology!]

If your new to programming, the pro''s and con''s don''t really affect you. Speed, compatibility, and advanced uses just don''t apply to a newbie. The only real thing that I think would affect you is that the Java SDK is quite a meaty download, and along with the relatively slow preformance of Java compilers, it adds un-needed headaches. Also, there are an enormouse amount of C++ resources on the web and in print. And, personally, I found the C++ syntax easier to read than Java, but might just be me.
I''m not saying that C++ is better than Java, just that for a new programmer C++ might be easier to get started with. And, if your not just considering C++ and Java, I recommend Pascal. There is addequate information out there, if you look, and it is MUCH easier to learn and read than both C++ and Java. When you become fairly proficient you can move onto Delphi for Windows programming!
Whatever you choose, good luck on you way to becomming a programing master!